Today we had a guest speaker join us. He introduced us to a website called Debate Graph. The idea behind it is to create an online mind map than can be edited, used as a demonstration/presentation tool and edited by multiple people.
I was set the task to create a mind map about cyber security, using Debate Graph, however, I had great difficulty. I always try my hand at new technology, learning about it and trying it out, to discover more about it. I have always been a hands on person and after trying out this site, I found it difficult to follow and not simple enough just to create a mind map. I 'copped' out and used 'paint' instead as this was the only technological form. Although this is a very simple start to my mind map, I felt more confident creating it.
Helen
16/4/2013 02:19:45 pm

I love that you haven't allowed the tool to limit you, but instead have focused on the purpose of the tool and looked outside of the box at other ways to achieve this -- doing so in a way that makes sense to you! As a teacher it will be really important for you to help students to express themselves without having technology become an obstacle to them expressing themselves (I believe technology is not the point, learning is -- and technology is merely a tool to help us learn).

Reply



Leave a Reply.